Comply with the terms of the lease.
Follow the Rules and Regulations of the property. The landlord may adopt rules and regulations to promote the appearance, convenience, safety, or welfare of the tenants, to preserve the property from abusive use, or to make a fair distribution of the services provided by the landlord. The tenant must follow these rules. (Nebraska Statute 76-1422)
Use the property only as a residence. The tenant shall only use the property as a residence unless the landlord and tenant agree otherwise.(Nebraska Statute 76-1424)
Inform the landlord of an extended absence. If the lease requires it, the tenant must inform the landlord when the tenant expects to be absent from the property for a period of more than seven days. The tenant must inform the landlord no later than the first day of the absence. (Nebraska Statute 76-1424)
Maintain the dwelling unit. The tenant shall:
- Comply with all obligations placed on tenants by a local minimum housing code,
- Keep the property as clean and safe as the condition of the property permits,
- Dispose of garbage and ashes in a clean and safe manner,
- Keep all plumbing fixtures as clean as their condition permits,
- Use all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air condition and other facilities and appliances reasonably,
- Not deliberately or negligently destroy, deface, damage, impair or remove any part of the property, or allow anyone else to do so,
- Do not act or allow guests to act in a manner that disturbs the tenant’s neighbors’ peaceful enjoyment of the property, and
- Comply with bylaws, covenants, rules or regulations of any condominium regime, cooperative housing agreement, or neighborhood association governing the property.
Clean the property when moving out. When the tenant moves out, the tenant must return the property to as clean a condition as it was when the tenant took possession of it, except for ordinary wear and tear. (Nebraska Statute 76-1421(2))
Give proper notice before moving out. If the tenant wants to move out at the end of the lease term, the tenant should give the landlord a written notice at least 30 days before the end of the lease (or any longer period contained in the lease).
If the tenant wants to move out while renting month-to-month, the tenant should give the landlord a written notice at least 30 days before the rental due date when the tenant will leave. (Nebraska Statute 76-1437)
Return the property to the landlord. At the end of the tenancy, the tenant must move out and return the property to the landlord’s control. (Nebraska Statute 76-1437)